Central Perth Minor Hockey

2019/20 Season Award Winners

Central Perth Minor Hockey is an association built around our mutual love of hockey, and dedicated to providing hockey for youth in the areas including and surrounding Milverton and Monkton. We are volunteer led and run, and without all of these dedicated volunteers we would not have a minor hockey system. We are very thankful for everyone who volunteers their time, energy and talents to Central Perth Minor Hockey, with our kids as the beneficiaries of this community spirit. Every year we recognize individuals who were outstanding in the past season. Their dedication and actions inspire our players and families, and make our hockey system better because of it. We are very disappointed this year to announce this via the website due to Covid-19. These outstanding volunteers deserve the round of applause that they would have received at our year end awards ceremony. Please congratulate our winners.

Coach of the Year - Perry Ohm – Atom Girls

"I would like to nominate Perry Ohm for Coach of the year for Central Perth Minor Hockey. He had a group of girls with varying skills, many of whom have never played together before. He ended up coaching them to a provincials qualification. The girls respect him as both a coach, and as a person." Perry has worked very hard to rejuvenate our girls' hockey program from the youngest age group up. His hard work in finding and recruiting players has meant that our girls' hockey program has a strong, young base again to allow CPMHA to continue to offer atom girls hockey, and to position us well for girls hockey for years to come.

We would like to thank Perry for being a wonderful coach and mentor to these girls as they begin their hockey careers. We are very proud to name Perry Ohm as the 2019/20 Central Perth Minor Hockey Coach of the Year.

Volunteer of the Year - Ken Crowley

"I would like to nominate Ken Crowley for Volunteer of the year for Central Perth Minor Hockey. Ken has been an on ice helper/assistant coach for the last 3 or 4 years, and the kids love him. Ken would start on the ice with the 5 Year Old Mites, stay on the ice to help the 6 Year Old Mites as necessary, and then roll right into a practice with the Novice LL team at 11AM. He always stayed upbeat about it and kept that smile on his face for the kids. He was always willing to help with anything, and jumped to take on more responsibility to make things go smooth. He's a fantastic guy for being around the team and keeping it fun for the kids."

We would like to thank Ken for being a dedicated volunteer and a wonderful role model for our young players. We are very proud to name Ken Crowley as the 2019/20 Central Perth Minor Hockey Volunteer of the Year.

Youth Volunteer of the Year - Avyn Duncan

"Avyn was a dedicated volunteer who was always willing to help the players on the Mite teams to develop their skills. She performed a variety of roles while on the ice. She helped to set up the drills and put the equipment away. She was the goalie during games in practice and the person who demonstrated the drill to the players. She was also a robber, a giant and was always "It" during tag games, as the kids loved to be chased around the ice by her. Avyn performed all

these tasks with a smile on her face and a willingness to help. Avyn could always be counted on to show up on Thursday nights for the hour and half ice time ready to help out, even though she had other commitments in her life. Avyn always took the initiative to find something to do to help out or a player that needed a little boost. At the beginning of practice she was often found teaching the players how to shoot, giving passes to the players or chasing the players around the ice to trying to take their puck. For her dedication, her willingness to perform any task she was asked and for passing on the love of the game of hockey to the Mite hockey players, I nominate Avyn Duncan as the Youth Volunteer of the Year."

We would like to thank Avyn for being a dedicated volunteer and wonderful role model for our young players. We are very proud to name Avyn Duncan as the 2019/20 Central Perth Minor Hockey Youth Volunteer of the Year.

2019/20 Team Awards

Central Perth Minor Hockey would like to congratulate the following players for being selected by their coaching staff to receive the Esso Awards. Thanks to Esso and to Trent & Greg Bowman of Ralph's Service Centre in Atwood for sponsoring these awards.

Novice Local League – coached by Keith McIntosh Most Dedicated: Bennett Lichti Most Sportsmanlike: Jarrett DeGroot Most Improved: Cameron Kuepfer

Novice Rep – coached by Nathan Morwood Most Dedicated: Reid Buchanan & Mason Erwin Most Sportsmanlike: Owen Coghlin Most Improved: Megan Keller

Atom Local League – coached by Amber Schalk Most Dedicated: Hunter McLean Most Sportsmanlike: Megan Bowles Most Improved: Brayden Jantzi

Atom Rep – coached by Bob McMillan Most Dedicated: Cash Gilbert & Caleb Martin Most Sportsmanlike: Seth Pettapiece Most Improved: Rhyland Boyd

Atom Girls – coached by Perry Ohm Most Dedicated: Maddy Ohm Most Sportsmanlike: Calla Carter Most Improved: Reese Horton

Peewee Local League – coached by Paul Clarke Most Dedicated: Bryce Brown Most Sportsmanlike: Emelia Smith Most Improved: Ben Sippel **Peewee Rep** – coached by Jamie Dewar Most Dedicated: Logan Dewar Most Sportsmanlike: Derek Gropp Most Improved: Carter Dallner

Bantam Local League – coached by Kyle Baillie Most Dedicated: Reid Baillie Most Sportsmanlike: Lachlan Faber Most Improved: Nolan McMillan

Bantam Girls – coached by Darryk Martin Most Dedicated: Ella Martin Most Sportsmanlike: Ally DeJong Most Improved: Jenna Dunbar

Midget Local League – coached by Paul Helm Most Dedicated: Nick McCourt Most Sportsmanlike: Ben Carter Most Improved: Edwin Faber

Midget Rep – coached by Jeff Earl Most Dedicated: Jacob Huber Most Sportsmanlike: Jarvis Kuepfer & Nick McCourt Most Improved: Lucas Quipp

Midget Girls – coached by Kyla McEwen Most Dedicated: Hannah Givens Most Sportsmanlike: Jillian Ohm Most Improved: Makayla Ames-Hodgkinson

Juvenile – coached by Shawn Gilbert Most Dedicated: Jarrett Vogels Most Sportsmanlike: Seth Johnston Most Improved: Cooper McCourt